Motor Vehicle Violations

There are two ways to dispose of a traffic ticket in the Municipal Court. If the violation does not require a court appearance, you may pay the ticket through the Violations Bureau, either by mail or in person. Payments of cash, Visa or Master Card, check, or money order are accepted at the Violations Bureau, Edison Township Municipal Building, 100 Municipal Boulevard, Edison, New Jersey, Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:15 PM. If you are unsure of the amount of your fine, or if a court appearance is required, please call the court at (732) 248-7328. Payments are due by the court appearance date on the bottom of your ticket.

Below is a list of the most commonly issued summons offenses and the penalties assessed for each. Please be advised, however, that if your ticket was issued in either a "Construction Zone" or a "65 MPH Zone", you must call the court to determine the amount due.

Statewide Violations Schedule 
Title 39 Offense Penalty
3-4 Unregistered Vehicle $ 54.00
3-29 Failure to Exhibit Documents $ 180.00
3-33 Unclear Plates $ 54.00
3-76.2f Failure to Wear Seatbelt $ 46.00
4-81 Failure to Observe Signal $ 85.00
4-85 Improper Passing $ 85.00
4-97 Careless Driving $ 85.00
4-124 Failure to Turn $ 85.00
4-144 Failure to Stop or Yield $ 85.00
8-1 Failure to Inspect $ 130.00
8-4 Failure to Make Repairs $ 130.00
4-98 Speeding - Exceeding the Speed By:  
  1-9 MPH $ 85.00*
  10-14 MPH $ 95.00*
  15-19 MPH $105.00*
  20-24 MPH $ 200.00*
  25-29 MPH $ 220.00*
  30-34 MPH $ 240.00*
* If your ticket was issued in either a "Construction Zone" or a "65 MPH Zone", you must call the court to determine the amount due.

Payments may also be made over the internet by logging on to www.njmcdirect.com. You may pay your ticket by either Visa or Mastercard on that site. Please have the following information ready: Your ticket number, your license plate number and your credit card information. You are also required to enter the Court Code number. Edison's Court ID is 1205.

If you want to plead "not guilty" to a traffic ticket, you must call the Violations Bureau at least seven days prior to the court appearance date on the bottom of your ticket. The case will then be scheduled and you will be advised of your court appearance date by mail.

Points on your driver's license are not assessed by the Municipal Court. They are assessed by the New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicles. Questions regarding points and surcharges should be made to the Division of Motor Vehicles by calling (609) 292-7500.